Strike One (Overnight Oats For Breakfast)

Since getting back from Argentina, after being there for a month, I have decided to get my life back on track. And what better way than to document the process… so this is my first strike at blogging!

Last night was my first night back and I got a relatively good night of sleep considering my condition. (I flew from Argentina to Nevada – minus 4 hours – to stay with my grandma for the night. Then the next morning flew back across the country to get home – plus 3 hours.) My eating and sleeping schedule were a little disoriented. I managed to fall asleep around 11 pm and woke up around 8 am. Last night planned ahead and I decided to improvise with what we had to make some overnight oat (via KathEats)

This was the first time eating/making overnight oats, and I have to say.. very filling!! If you don’t know what overnight oats are, it is just equal parts of yogurt, milk, and oats mixed together and left in the refrigerator over night. Then in the morning top it with whatever floats your boat.

Image

In today’s bowl-

Ingredients mixed in last night:

1/3 cup old-fashion oats (The recipe via KathEats calls for rolled oats… As I said before there were slight alterations because of the pantry inventory)

1/3 cup greek yogurt (I would prefer plain yogurt… But greek yogurt did just fine as a substitute)

1/3 cup almond milk (No milk in the fridge!)

Toppings added this morning:

A small handful of sliced almonds and granola (But be careful with the granola, it can add extra unwanted calories, but it can become too sweet if your not careful – I use a pretty bland granola to get the texture without the sweetness)

3 sliced strawberries

1/2 a banana

And finally, for an attempt of a something similar to sunflower seed butter I mixed… a spoonful of peanut butter, honey, a dash of cinnamon, and a splash of vanilla… And all mixed together, it tasted surprisingly good!!

Lesson Learned – next time I would heat up the peanut butter mixture a tiny bit to make it easier to stir together with the rest of the ingredients.

Image

My morning drink: Tazo Refresh tea.

Quote of the day (also on my cup!) – “Just when the caterpillar thought the world was over it became a butter fly”

Image

I enjoyed this bowl of goodness with the olympics (synchronized swimming) in the background… it has been missed dearly because I wasn’t able to watch it while in Argentina.

On the agenda for today:

Unpack, unpack, unpack!!!!!!… And some catching up on the gymnastics olympics via my DVR 🙂

Enjoy your summer day!

3 thoughts on “Strike One (Overnight Oats For Breakfast)

  1. Emily – this sounds really healthy compared to my breakfast which consisted of a alfajore and a cup of coffee. You are inspiring me to improve my eating habits. Good luck on your journey. By the way, I would love to see a picture of you!

    • Thank you so much for sharing your journey! I can’t wait to try the overnight oats! You truly ARE what you eat! I remind myself of that daily. May God bless you on your journey.

Leave a Reply

